Browse Companies:

Working at Whole Foods Market — Reviews by Employees

Learn what employees have to say about Whole Foods Market pay, work/life balance, care potential, job security, and much more by reading our anonymous employee reviews.

Reviews of Jobs at Whole Foods Market

4.3Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect5
Benefits5
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth3
Location4
Co-Workers4
Work Environment5

From Lakewood, Colorado — 04/09/2010

I actually had a very good experience working for Whole Foods. I liked my co-workers, I had decent pay. I worked in the prep foods area so I always had stuff to do. It could get hectic sometimes but not too bad. The only downside is that there was no employee entrance, and we weren't allowed to park in the parking garage so that customers had enough spaces. There was more than enough room. Other than that, still my favorite place to work so far.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.9Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits4
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance3
Career Growth4
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment4

From Saint Paul, MN — 06/08/2009

I'm a relatively new hire to Whole Foods (less than a year) and I really like my job. It can be depressingly boring at times but I have never had a job that hasn't had such periods so I can't do any real comparison. I work with great dedicated people, who know a lot about the product and care about the company's community impact.

Complaints: I haven't had a weekend off in about three months and often go six days between days off (which can be exhausting, you don't realize how important a day away is until you don't have it). The customers, while are by majority great, seem to be stupid when it comes to simple operations a five yr old should be able to navigate. People complain about idiotic things and a complaint can get you in trouble and written up (even if it's groundless and something stupid). Plus there's so many meetings and evaluations, plus filling out forms about another's performance. I hate those and it seems like it slows us all feeling like a team as we're all constantly having to write about each other's work performance. Plus I hate being pretend happy all day. It's hard when you're just not like that. I view this all as a part of growing up though and thus can't say these wouldn't be elements I wouldn't deal with anywhere else.

Overall I really like my job, it's not my career though. The people I work with work hard and give their all to this job. They're funny and friendly, eager to help you have fun at work. I felt I should stick up for this location. It really is a nice place to work and the discount doesn't hurt either.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.2Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect5
Benefits5
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth4
Location4
Co-Workers2
Work Environment4

From Chicago, IL — 05/29/2009

Most everything is fine at the location where I work. I often times question the intelligence levels of some of the team members.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.9Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits4
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance3
Career Growth4
Location5
Co-Workers4
Work Environment4

From long beach, ca — 03/22/2009

I have been with the company over two years and I love it. Moving up isn't as easy as I would like, already in management (leadership) but am looking to move up even further. Seems to have a lot of politics but that is pretty much expected given it is a publicly traded comany.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.5Rating Details
Category
Pay5
Respect5
Benefits4
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth5
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From milwaukee — 01/13/2009

First and foremost, anyone with a job in this day and age is lucky to have one. Anyone working at Whole Foods is even luckier. Most of the bad reviews here seem to have been written by slackers with bad grammar and spelling skills. Work is work and if you want to show up and just kind of go through the motions please do your fellow team members a favor and quit because you're stealing from us. I take it very seriously as does the rest of my team. That's how we roll. The benefits could be better I suppose and no company is without flaws or flawed employees. I've worked at some really effed up places in my nearly 20 years of various employment and WFM is hands-down the least stressful. I have no idea where alot of these comments are coming from except maybe spoiled, trust-fund hipsters that expect to have everything silver-spoon-fed to them. Again, please quit so there's more for the rest of us that want to work hard, help people and change the world.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.2Rating Details
Category
Pay3
Respect4
Benefits5
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth1
Location3
Co-Workers1
Work Environment3

From Fort Lauderdale, CA — 03/23/2008

Whole food is a fun place to work, benefits and work/life balance are great. Pay is slightly on the low side.There are very little career growth if you're not in the headquarter location.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.7Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect5
Benefits5
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth5
Location4
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From Coral Springs, Flori — 06/30/2007

Pay is good, they will be reapsonable with you and theres a job Dialouge after 30 days that will usually give you a raise. The store gives alot of repsect to everyone. Honestly it's the best job I've had. I've never been a person to work for someone else, but this place feels great. Benefits are amazing. After 400 hours you get all benefits, including gamsharing. After 800 hours medical is free for you and the family.Theres potential growth and its the first company I've seen that actually encourages it, not stomp on you. The location sucks. Coral Springs suck in general. It's hard to get business there and the people are real cheap. Everyone who works there is friendly and kind, never had a problem with anyone. The store is beautiful, always cool, always nice. Great overall. Highly Recommended.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.5Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect5
Benefits5
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth5
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From Evanston — 11/02/2006

Awesome place to work for. Great benefits. Great growth potention. They have team members that started as baggers and now are Store Team Leaders. (General Managers)
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review

About Jobitorial

Work is one of the most important parts of our lives... so if you can read reviews of the latest books or electronics - why shouldn't you be able to read reviews of what it's like to work at your next employer?

Jobitorial is here to help - we want you to have all the information you need to make the best career decisions.

Check Out the Latest Jobs

Related Information