Browse Companies:

Working at Wachovia — Reviews by Employees

Learn what employees have to say about Wachovia pay, work/life balance, care potential, job security, and much more by reading our anonymous employee reviews.

Reviews of Jobs at Wachovia

3.6Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits4
Job Security3
Work/Life Balance3
Career Growth3
Location4
Co-Workers4
Work Environment4

From Baltimore Md — 03/16/2010

You, too, can be replaced. Goals are unrealistic which result in low incentive payouts. 50-60 hour work weeks for store managers if you're lucky. New implemenation of stage directing is an unrealistic expectation for managers to manage their team to drive sales, coaching & adminstrative duties.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.8Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits3
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance4
Career Growth4
Location3
Co-Workers4
Work Environment5

From northeastern grinder — 02/15/2010

i work with lovely people who cherish the daily, positive impact we have on our customers. My managers are a joy to engage with, the abundance of playful banter is wonderful and satisfying. I wish I could of started here years ago, and truly grown with the changes and dynamic involvement that defines our mission statement.

i am a value to my customers, my co-workers and my community. i am wachovia...
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.2Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect1
Benefits4
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance3
Career Growth3
Location5
Co-Workers3
Work Environment2

From Delray Beach, FL — 12/13/2009

I have worked for Wachovia for over 5 years. Even since Wells Fargo took over I have hated working there. I am a manager and the stress level is at times unbearable. It's all about SELL SELL SELL! We are constantly short staffed and our leaders see this as an opportunity for more sales!!!! While I understand that I work for a Retail Bank, I also have a conscience and morals. Our leaders don't care how we get our sales just as long as we get them. Our DM is ridiculous. She is constantly emailing everyone at all hours of the day and even when she's on vacation. I am trying to hang on because I really do love what I do and I love our customers but if this is the way Wells Fargo runs their branches I will be looking for a job somewhere else.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.6Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits4
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance4
Career Growth1
Location5
Co-Workers4
Work Environment4

From NC — 10/28/2009

the bank is good decent place to work. The benefits are okay. Pay is decent. I will say the opportunities are who you know or whos butt you are kissing. I am not pleased that I have only been promoted once in my time with the bank. I get raises and some opportunties. But I can spin a story quite right and make crap up so I can't promoted. The Behavioral Based interview please crock of crap, Some people in leadership roles are lazy as they come and dont have to answer for it. No matter what is said its never addressed you can be wrong 99% of the time and nothing is done. I must say that over all its a good place to work being Wachovia. I dont know what will happen with wells. We are not the sale machine they want we are ethical if anything and what I am reading and hearing that may not be the case...
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.8Rating Details
Category
Pay5
Respect5
Benefits5
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth4
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From FL — 10/26/2009

I think working at Wachovia is great. Maybe its the branch or district that Im in but at my branch we work real well as a team, no body has any stress getting solutions. The pay is okay for a part time teller (which is me). The only downfall about this company is that hiring full time tellers is gonna be no more. Since the switch over to Wells Fargo they will no longer be hiring full time tellers (probably to cut costs). Thats my only complaint. My customers are very nice and actually helpful to me as well. I think that working for this company part time is a wonderful thing.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.9Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits4
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance4
Career Growth4
Location5
Co-Workers2
Work Environment4

From Columbus — 10/08/2009

okay company to work for
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.3Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits4
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth3
Location5
Co-Workers4
Work Environment5

From Salem, Oregon — 03/17/2009

The place that I worked at was pretty good. We had to option of being crossed trained in retail and also getting a raise due to the fact. They also gave us the option of getting our brokerage license. Depending on what type of employee you were you got what you deserved
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.4Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect5
Benefits5
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth4
Location5
Co-Workers4
Work Environment5

From IRVING — 08/16/2008

RESPECT: Well, you almost always start out in customer service, but after a year, you get trained for six weeks, and then you fly. After a year of good performance, depending on your degree, if you have one, how fast you are, and how well you interview, there are tons and tons aof different departments, branches, and corporate levels you can apply for. They are very good when it comes to letting you explore opportunities, even if you want to cross train with antoehr office just to check out the job.

Salary- It's extremely good if you start off in California and move to a different state. In most cases they let you keep your California salary. I can not really speak for other states, but I can say that I have heard both bad and good about starting salaries and increases. That is the bad thing, you never really know what your increase will be, or if you will get one. I have gotton one almost every year, but the most I got was 10%, and that was becasue I promoted to a different department. Later that year I got 1.5%, and the next year 3%. Not really a big deal.

Benefits- They are a Fortune 500 company, and the benefits are great. Very good Medical coverage, 401k plan, that lets you take out three loans at a time, dental, life insurance, pre paid legal services, tuition reimbursement, and tons and tons of time off. One of my co-workers started a year ago, and literally called in sick about twice a month, and it took them a year to fire hime.

Job Security is ok where I am because I am in Auto Loans. Our mortgage and banking done seem to be doing very well at all, but so far I have not had any information pertaining to my job being in danger.

WORK AND LIFE BALANCE
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.8Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits3
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth4
Location3
Co-Workers4
Work Environment5

From Charlotte, NC — 08/06/2008

Pay is good compared to other industries and companies. I confirmed this via recruiters and other offers. WB has fair market values... you just have to get to the market values.

Work life balance is important at least in my job. I am not in a sales role.

Benefits are probably average. I hear medical benefits are cheaper just about anywhere else. However, where else can you get 4 or 5 weeks PTO starting! Great benefits, great work environment.

Career advancement can happen if you work at it. But don't expect mgmt to really help out... they say they will but they don't.

Overall good company to work for. I've been to a lot worse.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.1Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect3
Benefits4
Job Security2
Work/Life Balance2
Career Growth3
Location4
Co-Workers4
Work Environment3

From Atlanta, GA — 08/04/2008

Wachovia is like any other large corporation. There are some highs and lows. Yes, the new hires are paid more or just as much as the employees who have been with the company for a number of years. That's normal according to the employment statistics and re-evaluation of job families. Wachovia had excellent training. Yes, even before the Wachovia/First Union merger. If you're in retail banking, and in an FS role, you're as good as your last sale. Each month is a new beginning to obtain that $1mm loan, $1mm deposits, and $2mm investment goals. It was very stressful. You must work long hours and every other Saturday. Not to mention your lead calls and Lord have mercy on your soul if you didn't work your book of business and update your leads! If you know what you are getting into prior to your first day at Wachovia, you should do well.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review

About Jobitorial

Work is one of the most important parts of our lives... so if you can read reviews of the latest books or electronics - why shouldn't you be able to read reviews of what it's like to work at your next employer?

Jobitorial is here to help - we want you to have all the information you need to make the best career decisions.

Related Information