Browse Companies:

Working at Time Warner — Reviews by Employees

Learn what employees have to say about Time Warner pay, work/life balance, care potential, job security, and much more by reading our anonymous employee reviews.

Reviews of Jobs at Time Warner

3.1Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits4
Job Security2
Work/Life Balance4
Career Growth2
Location3
Co-Workers3
Work Environment3

From austin, tx — 11/05/2009

Where to begin? I think that they definitely pay well for Inbound Sales. You gotta know how to sell, thats it! They can easily replace you if you fail to meet quota, but thats anywhere. The bosses are there to stay no room for advancement. The people are pretty jealous of ISRS dept because we make all the $ and they like to hate sometimes. The people within the dept are great people though, you hear a lot of shady stuff though... I think I would go back there if I really needed to, maybe. They have ok benefits, pretty much comparable to any other full time work, but the one that is the best is the free cable services, thats how they keep the employees they have generally. I heard the pay is slightly decreasing now since I left, its still a monopoly though so it kinda sucks that they would cut pay first! Overall a shady company to work for, but its a job...if you can land it though, pretty intensive backround checks and piss tests...
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.2Rating Details
Category
Pay3
Respect3
Benefits4
Job Security3
Work/Life Balance3
Career Growth2
Location5
Co-Workers4
Work Environment3

From Canton, OH — 04/03/2009

As a FORMER twc csr, I can't stress how much I love the word FORMER, I definitely sympathize with all of you still in hell's handbasket. It must be a twc course taken amongst supervisors and management nationwide to be as inconsiderate, incompetent, and irrational because for there to be so many even in one building there isn't an ounce of respect given. Benefits worked out well so that was no biggie in my opinion. Actually I was surprised to know there were no jobs shipped elsewhere because of the economy, but the constant changes and new procedures that was mandatory to know IMMEDIATELY made things extremely difficult on top of the demanding work of bein disrespected in everyway under the sun by our "never wrong, always-wanting-credit-to-their-account-because-they-swear-their-teenage-son-didnt-order-porn, not-paying-their-bill-until-their-service-works" customers it made many people quit anyway. I used to work 2-10:30 and by the time you get off work, you go home to your free cable, which meant nothing to me, and try to relax and low and behold you have the same problem that you've been getting yelled at by the idiotic customers about all day and since there's no free cable to watch, you go to bed and wake up to do it all over again...some life balance, huh? As far a growth of any kind in the company, is slim to none, I tried very hard to move out of customer service and applied to many different departments but never got a response the whole nine months I worked there. The location was the only great thing about the job, I could be running late for work, say 1:45, I could still make there on time because I lived so close. Usually with any job its always a few folks you could do without, whether its other csr's or the unsupervising supervisors, but overall once you work there a while you get pretty chummy with co workers and it makes being there a LITTLE easier because you can actually help each other since you can get quicker service than asking the "higher ups". I must say the facility I worked in was nice and roomy the cubicles you work in is ample room but nonetheless the work you're actually doing in that cubicle doesn't compensate for it at all. I'm not a negative person, I just state facts as well as keep it real so when I say this statement it's only because it's true, within the nine months working as a twc csr i would literally have rather gone through a complicated pregnancy than deal with that job, and that's real!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
5.0Rating Details
Category
Pay5
Respect5
Benefits5
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth5
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From San Diego, CA — 03/19/2009

aawesome. Friendly environment. Help co workers and great company to grow... Benefits are awesome and you get so much employee discount! I love working for TWC
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.2Rating Details
Category
Pay3
Respect4
Benefits5
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance4
Career Growth4
Location4
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From Rochester, NY — 03/19/2009

I really can't understand what the posters here are talking about. I have been working for TWC no for a while and can't begin to explain how pleased I am with everything here. The benefits are wonderful - yeah the pays a little low but what TWC offers me is friendship inside and outside of work, Co-workers that appreciate a good hard days work and someone that dosn't get dragged into the BS. Stop all your whining and moaning, in today's economy you should be glad that you have a pot to piss in!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.3Rating Details
Category
Pay5
Respect5
Benefits5
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance4
Career Growth3
Location3
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From ONTARIO,CA — 02/26/2009

THIS COMPANY REALLY CARES ITS THE BEST PLACE TO WORK.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.1Rating Details
Category
Pay2
Respect3
Benefits5
Job Security2
Work/Life Balance4
Career Growth2
Location4
Co-Workers4
Work Environment2

From Portland, ME — 01/23/2009

The company offers very good benefits for health, life insurance, dental, vision, 401K. It's hard to locate a dentist if you're not in certain areas but that's the fault of the state being the way it is and not MetLife the provider.

I can honestly say this is the worst job I've had. Granted it's indoors (nice in the winter) and people are mostly nice and you can wear what you want, but it is constant 'Thank you for calling' and there are no pauses between calls. You are expected to jot notes while talking to your customer, thus not giving them 100% of your attention.

The trainers are exceptional but they spend most of their time talking about the software and not nearly enough time talking about troubleshooting or explaining special situations. This makes the CSR ill-fated when they hit the floor. There is a helpline we can call, but mostly the people answering the phones are failed CSRs who were moved to leadership status. Their personal communication skills are faltering.
It's a good location as far as offices go but I travel nearly an hour, so for me it's kind of a grueling commute some days.

The staff likes to jokingly say TWC (time warner cable) stands for "things will change" and this is no understatement. Things change everyday and you are expected to remember everything that changes or remember where to locate it on the Help screens.

It's truly unpleasant to listen to hundreds of people talking at the same time. What's worse is how the people that call in sometimes treat you. Abrupt, lacking in manners, many of them saying "HUUUH?!" instead of a pleasant "pardon me".

Cable subscribers think you owe them their cable. You don't. It's a privilege, not a right. But try to come between them and their entertainment.

I can't wait for the job market to get better. This job will be the first that I walk out of, not giving a two week notice. I hate it.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.5Rating Details
Category
Pay5
Respect5
Benefits5
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth4
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From Rochester, NY — 12/17/2008

I really don't have a negative to say about working here. The benefits were outstanding! Health insurance, free cable services,tons of incentives were awesome! I worked in customer service and made A LOT of money in commissions and incentives. I have yet to find a job that matched what they offered. They had all sorts of events that included your family. The office was close to downtown right on the Genesee River.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.6Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect3
Benefits5
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance3
Career Growth3
Location4
Co-Workers4
Work Environment4

From Columbus ,OH — 12/07/2008

I work for TWC and for every positive there is a negative... sure the benefits maybe good but I'm sorry that is not enough. Customer service is responsible for everyone's job not only do you have to deal with customer issues but you also have to do tech support and sales. Most of us signed up for customer service because we don't feel comfortable selling items just to be pushed in that position also some policies need changes. You are given personal and sick days but you have to schedule them and that sucks most jobs give those days to be used at your leisure you can't always predict a sick day or some personal issue that needs immediate attention. Also due to the no tolerance attendance policy it does not matter if you have a valid work excuse for why you were absent along with documentation to support your claim they still point you for it as if not getting paid for that day is not enough. I understand that a certain amount of people are supposed to be on the phones at all times to handle the call volume but if you have a valid reason with documentation it should go as an unpaid excused absence. So how can you schedule that? At most jobs you use those days to cover that time with no penalty (it's when you don't have the time that you get penalized). Also with all the points that they hand out you would think that when they are offering gift cards and other stuff that they would give some option to shave off points! Since they are in the market for saving money shaving points is free! It is also hard for team leaders to address the concerns and needs for their teams when they are too busy doing managements job. We need more training in areas that we are not experienced in and more time needs to be devoted to making your current employees better employees and finding ways to help keep them around instead of ways that help get rid of them. Also the things that are supposed to motivate you to do your job should be a guarantee that you get it not an entry in a raffle I feel that management needs to not only hear our concerns but also take them seriously into consideration in order to make a better work environment for everyone. TWC expects so much out of their employees but they are not living up to the expectations that their employees have of them!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.3Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect2
Benefits4
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance2
Career Growth2
Location5
Co-Workers3
Work Environment5

From San Diego, CA — 10/18/2008

Respect? HA! The customer is always sided with and we are just expected to let them yell and scream at us because their services are not working! This is on a daily basis all day long! Why can't they just make stuff work?! And we are micromanaged like it's OUR fault the company sucks so much? I put customers on hold for EVERYTHING POSSIBLE. So I can just fix their services, tell them it's fixed, and get them off the phone so I don't have to deal with them anymore! I wouldn't have any sanity left if I let them yell in my ear while I'm trying to reboot their equipment or do whatever it is I have to do on my end to fix things. They listen to your calls and nit pick EVERYTHING! It feels like their job is to make you feel tiny and worthless.

The benefits are pretty good as far as your options of health benefits and coverage. And free cable is pretty nice. The only thing is the vacation and PTO. The calendar is ALWAYS booked so when can you ever take time off? And if you have a personal emergency you can't use your "personal" time off unless requested and approved in ADVANCE! So you have to use sick days? That's the only thing I can think of. Or else you get written up. And if you get written up that means no raise at the end of the year! Pretty much everyone gets a write up. They find a way. Probably so they can avoid giving you a raise.

Job security is pretty good because we have people working here that don't know what the heck their doing or care if they do a good job but they still have a job I guess because they play by the stupid corporate micromanaging rules. You don't really get write ups for sucking at your job (I'm surprised!). I think it's mainly for breaking attendance rules. Not surprising since they work us to death with all the overtime instead of trying to maintain an ideal amount of staff ALL THE TIME. Gee what a concept.

The Work/Life Balance is not very good for me. I think I stress about work more outside of work than anything! That's how much I hate it.

As far as career growth potential - there's not much. There are people that have invested 4-5 years if not more time doing the same thing. In my case that happens to be technical support. I've invested 2 so far and it's been the longest 2 years of my life! I've applied to other positions 3 or 4 times!!!

The location and the actual PHYSICAL work environment is fine. It's a nice building with a cafeteria and game room and TVs everywhere of course.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.5Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits5
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth5
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From Charlotte,NC — 08/26/2008

I loved working for TWC and am very disappointed not to be working there any more because of my health.

The pay is good and the benefits ROCK! They also offer domestic partner benefits which is pretty awesome. The benefits are such that there is a special meeting you go to that takes about 3 hrs to cover all the benefits. Free cable, internet, cheap phone and great health, disability and more.

Now yes at times the corprate b.s. will make your life hell but that can happen anywhere.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review

About Jobitorial

Work is one of the most important parts of our lives... so if you can read reviews of the latest books or electronics - why shouldn't you be able to read reviews of what it's like to work at your next employer?

Jobitorial is here to help - we want you to have all the information you need to make the best career decisions.

Related Information