Browse Companies:

Work at Target — Reviews by Employees

Learn what employees have to say about Target pay, work/life balance, care potential, job security, and much more by reading our anonymous employee reviews.

Reviews of Jobs at Target

4.4Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect5
Benefits4
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance4
Career Growth5
Location5
Co-Workers4
Work Environment5

From WI — 02/22/2010

I currently work for target as a sales floor team lead. I've been with the company for 3.5 years, starting as a cashier moving around to all the basic areas of the store (guest service, fitting room, starbucks, sales floor, etc) and was promoted to GSA and then TL. While promotional opportunities may not be the easiest to attain they are certainly available if one tries, and while the pay isn't fantastic, its retail so I think its pretty competitive all things considered.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.3Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect4
Benefits5
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth4
Location5
Co-Workers4
Work Environment5

From PA — 02/22/2010

As I read through the comments so far, I am not terribly amazed. A lot of complaints, which I expected -- it is retail, and we get the worst employees. There is a "no one works as hard as me" syndrome at Target that is annoying. Get over yourself. You are working retail for some reason just like the rest of us. Retail is hard work for little pay and guests suck and the hours are not cushy. Now, I will review Target as a retail job, not as I would like my ideal job to be. The pay is better than any of my other retail jobs. I started as a regular sales floor team member at Target making almost what I made as a department manager at Wal Mart. While retail hours are never fun, they have been extremely accomodating with my other job at a local theatre. They've worked around my rehearsal and performance schedule like a dream. I've never wanted for hours, in fact I've had to turn them down on more than one occasion. Except for the whining of "no one works but me" (which comes from EVERY employee there, which in itself proves that it's a mass delusion) the environment is great. If you think management is playing "favorites" or you are being "punished," maybe you need a reality check and step off your pedestal. There ARE definitely favorites at any job -- those who DO the work instead of whining about doing work. "I'm tired cuz of school" or "I shouldn't have to clean" ?? Seriously? Quit Target then. Those of us who don't have the time to whine about the work and are doing the work will be glad to have someone else put in your job!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.1Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect2
Benefits4
Job Security1
Work/Life Balance1
Career Growth3
Location5
Co-Workers4
Work Environment5

From al — 02/21/2010

Pay is good for specialists, team leaders, executives. Not so much for cashiers, carts, etc.
Respect varies depending on your staff. However, never trust anything they tell you.
Benefits are good for full timers. easter, tgiving, xmas off. tgiving/xmas are paid holidays for everyone. new years, memorial day, 4th july, labor day, tgiving, xmas are paid for leaders. insurance is pretty good.
Job security is NADA. you could be replaced at the drop of a hat, and they know that.
Work/Life balance is what you make it. I busted it for several years to move up, but if you do that consistently, they hold you to higher expectations than your peers. they expect you to strive to do the work of the person above you or youre not showing initiative.
Career potential/growth--dont bother unless you have a degree. you can still move up, but it is rare. they can hire someone fresh from college with a degree a lot cheaper than promoting from within.
Location is awesome--targets are everywhere.
co-worker competence--depends on store.
work environment-usually clean, safety is sometimes overlooked.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.7Rating Details
Category
Pay2
Respect4
Benefits3
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance3
Career Growth4
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From Louisville, KY — 02/21/2010

I have been working at Target for about 4 months now and I think its a pretty good job. The pay could be better, but when comparing to other major retailers, its good. Our managers (ETLs) care about us and are very involved in the store. They always go the extra mile to help out. Other team members are also good about responding for back-up calls and helping out whenever needed. We are a little short staffed sometimes and I think that it would help us be more productive if we had additional staff. Most people at the target I work at stay for years and already have experience.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.3Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect2
Benefits4
Job Security4
Work/Life Balance2
Career Growth3
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment2

From MN — 02/15/2010

I have worked for Target for many years. The only thing that keeps me there is my pay. It's not a great paying job for beginning cashiers, but I am in upper management in the store, so I am thankful for that. Otherwise, Target is always looking for ways to get more done with less resources. I believe in working smarter, but I believe Target is burning out its most valuable resources very quickly by giving them less help and having them jump through more and more hoops. For instance, once a month I am supposed to "status" with my superiors. It's basically like writing an English paper every month and getting graded on it. I spend about an hour of time working on this paper each month and about half an hour with my superiors reviewing it. Do you know how much actual work I could've accomplished in that hour and a half?? Give me a break. I am looking for work elsewhere at this point - hasta la vista, Target!!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.2Rating Details
Category
Pay2
Respect4
Benefits2
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth1
Location5
Co-Workers4
Work Environment4

From Memphis, Tn. — 02/08/2010

Pay- The input of effort is definately not reflected in the amount paid. Meaning you work hard for minimum wage. Because we're a new store the salesfloor team was hired more or less around the same time. Whether you've had 20yrs of retail work experience or you're a part time 16yr old just legal to have a job- everyone was started out with the same- minimum wage. What makes it worse is that your not working in just one department. You are expected to have knowledge of the backroom, check lanes, signing, other departments, flo, etc.... You typically end up getting delegated the manager's job while they walk around avoiding work. The more you know, the more your "expected" to do. So i suggest not being inquisitive or you'll have more responsibilities without the pay increase.

Respect- There is respect. Very rarely do your fellow team members disrespect you. I have never experienced it. Naturally, the higher up the chain, the more respect they demand.

Benefits- 10% discount is a joke. Seeing as once you work there that becomes the employees main store to shop at corporate could help us out a little.

Job security- You show up on time, do your job well- you have your job.

Work/Life Balance- They work well with my schedule which has been very helpful as a college student.

Career Potential/ Growth- This May I will graduate with a B.S in Biology. I do not forsee a "promotion" even though I am very much qualified to be a "ETL" or zone manager as other places refer to it. If your hardworking, more than likely you do everything they do minus the "official" stuff. Like answering call ins, opening and closing the store etc. Ha. It's who you know in this company.

Location- More than 1700 stores and counting. If there's not a store by you, there will be.

Co-worker competence- Like I said earlier the more you know, the more responsibility you have. Some people have got this figured out and thus act incompetent so they do not have to work. The majority don't want to work and just clock in to get paid. But the 10% who do their job well is enough to hold the store together.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.3Rating Details
Category
Pay2
Respect4
Benefits2
Job Security5
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth2
Location5
Co-Workers2
Work Environment4

From Shakopee, MN — 01/31/2010

Target was my first job, when I was 16 I applied and shortly after started work. I was a Backroom Team Member, which was by far the best job there, IMO. I was there for 5 years, I rated this company higher than my coworker who also worked there for several reasons. It was my first job right out of high school, so I didn't need a high paying job, I could only work so many hours a week due to being in school and a minor. So really I have no major complaints for the first few years I worked there. I met a lot of people there I still have as friends, even dated a few people from there, I loved nearly everyone I worked with. As I got older I needed a higher paying job, and there was no room to grow there, because I didn't want to become a team lead. The job itself wasn't challenging in the least, so I really got bored with it. I had it so easy there though it was unbelievable, some how I managed to get a 7 to 3:30 M-F schedule and never worked a weekend there ever (someone must have really liked me) it was 5 mins from my house, and being in the backroom I never had to deal with customers. For me it didn't even seem like work many days, more like a social gathering with my friends where we would have a good time, laugh our a**es off and still get our jobs done. The benefits they had to offer me were pretty pathetic, but at the same time I didn't need them because I was still on my parents health care plan. The discount was a sad 10% which i used for all my friends and family because they didn't even monitor it closely. Over all not a bad place to work right out of high school when you don't need money.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.2Rating Details
Category
Pay2
Respect3
Benefits4
Job Security3
Work/Life Balance3
Career Growth3
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment2

From York, PA — 01/25/2010

I worked for Target for almost 4 years. I was hired as Flow Team (4am) and then moved to Presentation. We reset all the aisles and merchandise. When seasonal changeover happened, we were the people that did it. We were required to be able to carry at minimum 60lbs both up and down a 15foot ladder, to carry and repeated lift up to 60lbs on a non-stop basis, and to solve the physical measurement problems from the blueprints that HQ sent us to follow. We were constantly given conflicting direction. It was almost like a battle between the hourly employees (who wanted the store to look good and help customers) and the salaried employees (who had no concept of the time invovlved and were only concerned iwth pleasing their middle managment). I was lucky about my schedule(our team worked mostly Mon-Fri in order to have the best access to the helpdesk if necessary) but the pay was horrible. I was in the higest pay bracket of the store and I never even broke 8.50. We were driven like slaves, everything was always "Faster!!!" and constructive criticism of any kind was strictly forbidden. Requesting time off was difficult at best, and forget it if you were sick. You could be written up even with a doctor's excuse. Most of the management was fresh out of college with no retail experience, many with no job experience at all. Easier for coporate to manipulate that way. Benefits weren't bad, IF you could get a relatively steady amount of hours. It was a dismal experience (and not my first job, by the way) and the only thing that kept me there were my coworkers and desperate financial situation.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
3.3Rating Details
Category
Pay4
Respect5
Benefits3
Job Security3
Work/Life Balance2
Career Growth2
Location3
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From Bakersfield, California — 01/10/2010

I was hired at Target as a seasonal employee. They recently gave me a letter offering me a permanent position. I was one of TWO cashiers and 6 total to receive a letter after the Holiday season & everyone is now leaving slowly but surely. I have never received more than 26 hours a week with Target. I work hard for my money every day. I detail checklanes every day. Clean the bathrooms 15 minutes before my break although none of the other cashiers did. I zoned one spot cleaned carts & even swept vacuumed & wiped down countertops for food ave. I am now getting 15-17 hours a week on a rotating schedule. I honestly thought about just waiting until my 3 months were up but now I'm considering giving Target the boot. I have a job waiting for me at $14 an hour to start as a receptionist. Receiving benifits at 3 months and promotional opportunites then also. They are waiting for me to conclude 3 months with Target to start me full-time permanent. My team leads are awesome I can say that much. Closing the LODs take their sweet time to open the door for team member after we clocked out 30 minutes earlier.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review
4.2Rating Details
Category
Pay5
Respect5
Benefits4
Job Security3
Work/Life Balance5
Career Growth3
Location5
Co-Workers5
Work Environment5

From Charlotte, NC — 12/21/2009

Pay - This is my first job ever and I'm making a over buck over minimum wage which is much more then I'd expected.

Respect - All of my team members have respect for each other, the team leaders/LoDs/ETLs/GSTLs treat us right, and give praise or reprimand when needed. The guests are usually nice and respectful though we do occasionally have the rude/grumpy ones, but this is to be expected working this kind of job.

Benefits - Never looked at the insurance/health packages. We get a 10% discount which imo isn't much but from my understanding most places don't offer much more. A lot of the food service areas do hold items for other team members (example: Starbucks regularly hold pastries for me so I can pick them up 9 hours later)

Job Security - No idea. So far it seems to be pretty secure though if you do your job right and work hard.

Work/Life Balance - In my section we are able to choose our hours pretty well, although when you are in your interview they do mention certain hours they are looking for over others and that does effect you being hired. They also don't like you missing a lot of work if you are only on seasonal and it will count against you for being hired long term.

Career Potential/Growth - Honestly no idea

Location - The locations here are great, there's a target every few minutes. The one I work at is 20 minutes away unfortunately however if I get hired past seasonal I can transfer. I also do l spend a lot of free time at this shopping center anyways so it's no big deal to me.

Co-Worker Competence - So far of the 7 other Team Members I've had all but two have been competent. 1 of them never does her job right and is lazy, the other quit without further notice and had similar issues. All of the others however work VERY hard, and have been very helpful. Our team leader is also very good at what she does and has shown a lot of good management skills.

Work Environment - So far the work environment has been great, and I can't think of anything further to comment on that I haven't mentioned already.
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • MySpace  | 
  • Flag this Review

About Jobitorial

Work is one of the most important parts of our lives... so if you can read reviews of the latest books or electronics - why shouldn't you be able to read reviews of what it's like to work at your next employer?

Jobitorial is here to help - we want you to have all the information you need to make the best career decisions.

Related Information